Who am I? I am just a 24 year old guy who is trying to build a happy and meaningful life. I have Cerebral Palsy, and require assistance to complete all my tasks and activities of daily life. These tasks include eating, grooming, toileting, cooking, etc. I also need help out in the community to go on shopping, work-related, and leisurely excursions.

What am I trying to do? Well, to answer this, I shall start by sharing the following two videos.

I totally agree with Dayna! The media and entertainment industry plays a big role in our society, and maybe it’s time to use it to our advantage, no? This is part of why I wanted a protagonist who happens to have a disability. However, I would still like to get back into modeling and acting, as soon as I find the right people and assistance to help me.

Like the individuals in these videos, I am also trying to create change. A year ago, Starkeeper: Longing, my first graphic novel was published. Starkeeper is a science fiction story that follows Cal, a bullied, disabled teen whose life changes in ways that he never imagined, which led him to discover his powerful birthright. Since its publication, my novel has opened the door to a few opportunities where I got to share Cal’s journey as well as my own with other people with disabilities. Getting the chance to connect with people who have had similar experiences as me was awesome, and being able to let them know that they aren’t alone was even better! I would love to have many more opportunities like this, and incorporate them into a future career, alas I can’t achieve this without the necessary assistance, which I currently do not have.

Therefore, I am trying to find volunteers, a way to hire my own attendants, or some other avenue to get the help I need, so I can continue to build the happy life and career that I so desire.

I know I am a dreamer, but I don't think that my goals and aspirations are impossible, I just have to find a way to achieve them.

P.S. I have looked into the Direct Funding route, as you guys know, and I don’t think seven hours (which is the maximum allotment) would be enough for me, because there have been times when I was out all day.

Some of you know, I haven't been very happy with my current living situation, and have been exploring other avenues. I deal with a lot of the crap that goes on here, I mean, it's extremely frustrating, when people find dirty dishes in my cupboards on a regular basis, and being judged all the time for the stuff I do and/or don't do, but I deal with it. However, what I cannot deal with is this; ILC is making it really hard for me to get out and about with an attendant. So, working, and doing book related activities are a struggle because people at ILC think I'm not independent enough, and shouldn't require assistance for such things. Although I enjoy speaking, and showcasing Starkeeper, these tasks are part of my jobs. Furthermore, don't they realize that if I could do said tasks on my own, I definitely would?

Sadly, finding someone to assist me out in the community is not a new issue. It came up when I started modeling, which is one of the reasons why I put my modeling aspirations on hold, but I digress. One of the avenues that I've been exploring to remedy my issue is Direct Funding, which is a program that gives you a chunk of money each year to hire your own attendants. However, DF might not meet all my needs, and if I apply for it, I would be taking a risk because I don't know how or even if Direct Funding would work for me.

I don't want to stay where I'm not happy, but I don't want to put myself up a creek without a paddle, either. So, do I trust myself to make and/or find paddles when I need them? I don't know.

facebook-squareyoutube-squareinstagram